A plan, but no time?

I can only hear one of my high school teacher in my head: “There’s no such thing as not having the time to do something, you have to make the time”. My goodness, I wonder if those few teachers know how big of an impact they have on our lives. Every time I feel overwhelmed with not having enough time to do the things I really want to do I think about making the time. Unfortunately, for a mom with little ones, this too often means cutting on sleep.

Even though I’ve been a ‘stay at home mom’ for almost 2 years now, I still feel like it’s new to me. It is so hard to commit time for yourself when you’re home because there is ALWAYS something to be done in the house: dishes, laundry, errands, repairs, phone calls, appointments, etc. And even trying to get those completed is difficult for me. And we have a cleaning lady. How do they do it all? How is it that moms around have their nails always freshly done and their Facebook updated to the minute? I haven’t had a haircut in almost a year, you can imagine the rest.

I guess I just never get to the end of it and have to decide when to take time for myself, myself. There will ALWAYS have something to do in the house. I need to set time aside to work on MY personal projects, the same way I would at work. Otherwise life just passes at speed of light and I’ll have nothing to show for myself.

Leave a Reply

