Volunteering to find out what to do in life

Ok, now that school has started, a gazillion volunteering opportunities knocked at my door. Of course, I don’t have to take on any of it if I don’t want to. But I want to.

I want to get involved at my kid’s school and have the chance to see them at school. And, if I’m going to stay home, I might as well go all out! Right now, I feel somewhat overwhelmed as I have signed up for so many things that I have something almost every day. I was thinking of taking it down a notch but then I thought, maybe there’s some opportunities for me here…

Since I’m deep in reflections about what direction to take my life next, it’s not a bad idea to spend time doing different things. I think I’d like to teach. Helping out during a class, reading a book at the library or even giving a talk on something can only be a good way to try that out. I think I’d like to be a photographer and work with multimedia. I sure am about to find out if I’d like to do more of that as I will be taking hundreds of pictures at the school events. At the very least, it will improve my photography skills.

Now, got to find time to do all this…

3 thoughts on “Volunteering to find out what to do in life

  1. Andrea R Huelsenbeck says:

    So, what happened with that career management assessment thingy? Was it inconclusive?
    Volunteering is a good thing, as long as you don’t overextend yourself. The stay-at-home lifestyle should benefit your family, not rob them.
    As far as feeling unsettled, wondering what to do next, I went through that process over the last year. I found a book that was extremely helpful. Here is my review: http://arhtisticlicense.com/2015/07/01/what-is-my-calling/
    I wish you the best in whatever direction life leads you.

Leave a Reply

