Career management: changing track

Middle age moms of little ones, raise your hand if you ever thought of changing career? Yep, that’s what I thought. 

I am now at that turning point in life. Been there, done that. That’s how I feel. I’ve also been a stay at home mom for the last 18 months and although it’s been an incredible amazing experience, I’m ready to start doing something else than singing ABC and reading Goodbye Moon. Problem is, I don’t want to go back to where I was. 

I have the opportunity to take advantage of a career management consulting firm (whatever that’s called, talent management or something). They started by making me do a career assessment. I have not yet the results but just going through the questions was interesting enough. As you are requested to answer ‘strongly like’ to ‘ strongly dislike’ without putting too much thought on it, you come to realize that perhaps what you think you liked is not what you actually like. And perhaps what you think you like has no correlation with what you are talented at. 

As I intend to get to the bottom of this, I will be following up once I get the results. In the mean time, I’ll keep thinking (too much).

Leave a Reply

