My favorite kind of run: Winter in the snow

We are from Canada so it’s no surprise we spend our Christmas holidays up here. As oppose to what everybody thinks, a white Christmas is not a guaranteed thing, as I’ve seen many ‘green’ Christmases in the past years. But this year, we got served well. Tons of snow. White everywhere. In fact, I can’t remember the last time coming home in the winter and seeing so many snow, snow storms etc. We’re very lucky. WE are, since we’re here for two weeks and then leave the rest of them fighting the snow for the rest of the winter ha!

Since biking and swimming is a little difficult to do during the holidays, I try to run everyday. And I think today has been the best so far. Although my favorite running temperature is slightly colder than the minus 5 celsius it is today, the snow was absolutely amazing. The kind you want when you go skiing: powder. I like when the snow makes the sound of styrofoam when I run but there was way too much snow and it was too fluffy to crunch under my feet. The snow is falling so much and so fast that even after the plow I still had snow over my ankles.

I didn’t run for very long, a little over half hour, around 4km. The snow makes the run real slow but makes your legs workout harder. I ran a 2km out and back twice and every time I’d run past my steps, they were almost covered in snow already. A real treat.

I took the picture a couple minutes after coming in. The snow had been cleaned before the run. It had covered the doorway and my footsteps were starting to fade already.

I took the picture a couple minutes after coming in. The snow had been cleaned before the run. It had covered the doorway and my footsteps were starting to fade already.

One thought on “My favorite kind of run: Winter in the snow

Leave a Reply

