Fighting Procrastination

Dishes in the sink. Laundry to put away. Bills to pay. Swim to do. Friends to call. Books to read. Mail to post. Training log to update. Projects to finish.

You know it all needs to be done but yet, you can’t seem to be able to get around doing it.

If this sounds familiar, you are suffering from procrastination. I myself have a severe case of it and am fighting it every day. You wouldn’t expect a triathlete suffering from procrastination which is why I sometimes wonder if I’m a triathlete or not. And please do not confuse laziness with procrastination. A lazy person wouldn’t do anything or accomplish much. I am not lazy. I have no problem getting up early and working hard all day long. So what is procrastination?

Here’s Wikipedia’s take on it:

‘In psychology, procrastination refers to the act of replacing high-priority actions with tasks of lower priority, or doing something from which one derives enjoyment, and thus putting off important tasks to a later time.

In accordance with Freud, the Pleasure principle may be responsible for procrastination; humans do not prefer negative emotions, and handing off a stressful task until a further date is enjoyable. 

Some psychologists cite such behavior as a mechanism for coping with the anxiety associated with starting or completing any task or decision.

For some people, procrastination can be persistent and tremendously disruptive to everyday life. For these individuals, procrastination may be symptomatic of a psychological disorder such as depression orADHD.

Ouf. This feels so true.

But what to do about it? I’m 40 years old and as far as I remember, I’ve been that way. And for years, I’ve read about it, learned about it, but I always seem to be putting away doing something about it. How ironic?

Except that this year, since August (just before turning 40), I’ve taken a ton of resolutions and so far, haven’t been able to apply much of them. This year, not only I am 40 but I’ve been given the greatest gift of all, time. Moving to Paris to follow my husband, we have chosen for me to stay home for a while. So now that I have all this extra time for not working I should be able to accomplish so much more. Except I don’t. If anything, the opposite effect is happening. And I want to put an end to it.

I don’t have an answer yet. But I am determine to heal and determination is something I do have. So let’s get going.

Leave a Reply

