Liebster Award

Wow. Do you know what is the Liebster Award? Neither do I but I got nominated to one – thank you very much Life Doesn’t Knock!

Turns out it’s an award given to newish blogger with little followers. I’ve read a bit about it and there’s different definitions and rules and all but that’s the main idea. The nominee needs to answer some questions given with the award and then nominate other blogs for this award. It’s a bit like a letter chain but I kinda like it because it did make me discover other blogs and learn a thing or two.

So here are the questions for me to answer:

1) Is there a book you would never want to be parted from? Why?

hmmm… I don’t recall reading a book twice. The books I value the most are my ‘reference’ books, especially in regard to parenting, triathlon training, running and cooking.

2) Which six authors, living or dead, will you invite to join your new reading group? 

Oh boy… I don’t even know if I can name six. And I’ve never been to a reading group. I know I like Atul Gawande and Malcolm Gladwell. Other than that I would have to say athletes from some books I read and really enjoyed such as Scott Jurek and Chrissie Wellington. The problem is I don’t ever read novels… I haven’t read one of the Twilight books series but I’d invite Stephenie Meyer because her story fascinates me. And so does J.K. Rowling’s.

3) Book or Kindle? Would anything change this decision? 

It took me a while to switch but I am now on Kindle. It was hard. I love books. Floor to ceiling, wall to wall kinda love. But I did it and now I love it. When you think about it, over the course of many years, it’s probably more environmentally friendly, more economical, and takes a whole lot less space – although I still love my shelves full of books!

4) If you won $1,000,000, how would you spend it?

Do I need to spend it?

5) Who would you write a biography of? What’s so special about them?

Myself. Not because I think I’m special, because I’m the person I know the most so it would be a real biography.

6) Chocolate or vanilla?  Which better represents your personality and why?

Chocolate. Oh sorry, I didn’t even see the second question. I just love chocolate.

7)  When life throws you around, where do you find solace? Explain your answer. 

Ice cream? Just kidding, although I do tend to eat my emotions a little. I don’t know where I find solace… I curl up in a ball and I wait until it passes.

And now, for the part that took me the longest to prepare, here are the blogs I’d like to nominate. I guess I’m so new I don’t even know enough blogs that fit the bill and actually had to spend some time reading a few – another reason I like this award, it made me go see what’s going on out there!

– Tri Fatherhood And not only because of the triathlon part, but because of the way he writes and what he writes about. It comes straight from the heart. Made me shed a few tears. It probably doesn’t fit the definition for the award exactly but that’s the only blog that I currently actually follow and read.

– I also started to follow Defying Genetics but since it was already nominated by Life Doesn’t Knock I didn’t know if I could nominate it again…

– Then there’s Canadian Hiking Photography because even though it’s all in pictures, they are amazing, I love the the Rockies and I.AM.CANADIAN.

The following two are blogs totally new to me. I like them because they are very different and different from what I usually read and follow.

Raising my Rainbow I instantaneously loved it. I always said that if I had a child who’s LGBT I would raise him/her as such, just like in this blog. I think it’s awesome.

Jiggly Bitch The title caught my attention and she is funny!

Last part, the questions for those who wish to participate in this chain award:

1) What’s the top 5 items on your bucket list?

2) If your life was a movie, what would the soundtrack be?

3) What is your favorite season and why?

4) If you won $1,000,000, how would you spend it?

5) What’s your favorite type of food and why?

6) What got you to start a blog?

Thanks again!!

One thought on “Liebster Award

Leave a Reply

