Nail polish on my toes

You would think I’m about to get girly on you but not at all. If you know me, you’d know I don’t wear makeup, I rarely get a haircut, I don’t know what happens in a ‘spa’ and I’m pretty sure I should shave my legs more often than I do. But despite that, I used to like painting my toe nails. It was kind of a way to remind myself I was a girl, after all. Since I’ve had a baby, there’s been even less haircuts and my legs now know a new meaning of what hairy is. I cut my nails when there’s so broken they catch on everything. My eyebrows are growing wild. I look like a sasquatch.  But I’m happy and so is my baby.

I’ve had several attempts at putting nail polish on my toes in the last couple of months but I rarely past the nail cutting part. As a runner, our feet really get the beating. Lost toe nail, ingrown nail, calluses, bunions, you name it. My feet are no exception. I need an industrial grinder to remove the rough skin and metal pliers to cut my nails. Also, you might have guessed that I’m not particularly the most skilled person to perform a pedicure. And I refuse to go get it done. I don’t have time to do it myself at home, I certainly don’t have time to go. I also don’t believe in spending money on it either. And it is weird to let someone else touch your disgusting feet. I’m sorry, I’m not used to it. So in the end, I do it, it’s never perfect, but that’s beside the point.

So tonight, between making diner, taking care of baby and after putting him to bed, I managed to do it all. Since I had a late day run, I just had a shower so my feet were ready for it. It’s not that it took that much time but it’s never a priority when you know you’re counting the minutes you have left to sleep before baby wakes up. In the end, it might be worth the few minutes to feel you did something special for yourself.

Leave a Reply

