Running Streak?

You’ve all heard about or met the guy that has been on a running streak for a godly amount of days. Or years. What is that all about?

Recently, I’ve decided I had enough being a slow runner. End of the pack slow. So, trying to help me, my Uber fast husband has been ingraining in my head that to run faster I need to run every day. Ok.

What my brain understood was, run every day that you can run. When you have time. When it’s not raining. When you’re not tired. You know. So that’s what I’d been trying to do and to some extent it worked. I increased my running days per week from 0 to, more than 3. I was happy with that. I also increased the intensity of my runs, since that’s another thing my husband told me to do: ‘you never push hard enough!’. Ok.

Last week-end I ran a 20k race and ended up doing my best pace for this distance. I thought hmmm… maybe I’m on to something… Then my husband, after many congratulations, came back with the running streak thing: ‘You got to keep running, running every day. You should go on a running streak!’. Ok.

Ok? Wait a minute. That means EVERY day, regardless. First, the concept stresses me in itself. What if you break the streak? Secondly, what will my body tell me? As I circulate more around triathletes than runners, I don’t know any real ‘streaker’. I don’t think I’ve ever read an article about it. I don’t even know how ‘streak’ is spelled out. So I google.

As it turns out, I spelled it right. And to my ignorant surprised self, the first result on top of the page is from an association of streak runners! http://www.runeveryday.com They even have a definition (which will come by sooo handy when the husband will come check on my training log): ‘to run at least one continuous mile (1.61 kilometers) within each calendar day under one’s own body power (without the utilization of any type of health or mechanical aid other than prosthetic devices).’ Easy breezy no? No, there’s more: ‘Any interested person may apply for SRI/USRSA membership, but no runner can have their
running streak listed on either the active or retired running streak list until it has reached at least one year in duration.’

I’m about to find out the importance of having more than one pair of running shoes…

Leave a Reply

