September 29th 2011

2 months since birth and yes! I got the green light to start exercising! I was aiming at October 1st as my official start date for training and it looks like I’ll be able to meet that. Now, keep in mind that I haven’t exercised AT ALL since week 20 of the pregnancy, and that since beginning of pregnancy, exercise was a very minimum. Last time I ran was almost a year ago. I know my last race was 10 for Texas of last year, which was in October.

So… I’m a little bit scared to start to say the least. I’ve been thinking of how to start, what to start with etc. I know I have to do a lot of strengthening and stretching in the beginning, that will be key for me – and my tendencies for injury (IT band syndrome, shoulder tendinitis, back and neck pain). I will make myself a little schedule to keep track of progress but mainly to keep motivated.

Of course, I’m still hauling a few extra pounds. Like 20. Amazing. It’s a weird feeling really to have 20 pounds to loose. I never thought I’d say that. But I’m optimistic. I haven’t been watching what I eat since birth and not exercising, except for lifting my now 10 pounds bundle of joy – hey, maybe I’m building biceps? I started this week to count the calories and I plan on doing my first workout this Saturday. Hopefully it melts off fast!

How will I get through this year and make it to the starting line in Mont Tremblant??? Hmmmm…. I need some serious organisation, support and will power!!!!

Leave a Reply

